Angelique Coetzee, SA Medical Association (SAMA) North Gauteng Branch stalwart
and board member for many years, was elected chairperson of the association to
succeed Dr Mzukisi Grootboom during the elective national council meeting at
the weekend.

A Pretoria
GP, Coetzee’s vice-chair for the term will be KZN Coastal Branch’s Dr Mvuyisi
Mzukwa while the province’s acknowledged medical icon, Prof HM Coovadia, was
elected president.  

Making a return to the executive is former long-time board member and SAMA chair, Dr
Norman Mabasa, who was elected chairperson of the GP Private Practice

board members/committee chairs elected were: Dr Malikah van der Schyff (Specialist
Private Practice Committee), Dr Lehlogonolo Majake (Audit & Risk), Dr
Cedric Sihlangu (Constitutional Matters), Prof. Mergan Naidoo (Education,
Science & Technology), Dr Mzulungile Nodikida (Finance),  Dr SimthandileToni (Health Policy), Dr Mark
Human (Human rights, Law and Ethics) and Dr Tshilidzi Sadiki (Social &

SAMA Med-e-Mail